Meet the Team

We stand at the forefront of the road to zero carbon

We specialise in developing new hybrid and electric powertrain technology for cleaner mobility of humans and goods.

We are committed to leading the next generation of clean mobility, which will make our streets, railways, farms, skies, seas and waterways, cleaner and greener. Recent projects have been funded by Innovate UK, ISCF, EPSRC and MarRI-UK.

Chris Smith

Director, Professor of Mechanical Engineering

Prathyush Menon

Deputy Director, Associate Professor of Engineering

Ed Keedwell

Professor of Artificial Intelligence, Computer Science

Mi Tian

Lecturer in Low-Carbon Engineering

James McNaughton

Head of Commercial & Strategy

Gianmario Rinaldi

Lecturer in Clean Powertrains

Joseph Wright

Experimental Officer

Ian Gray

Graduate Research Associate


Jack Coathup

Graduate Research Associate


Soroosh Kianmehr

Graduate Research Associate

Devika Koonthalakadu Baby

Lecturer in E&R

Megan Doble

Impact & Partnership Development Officer

Jack Shanahan

Business Research Associate

Debbie Ironside-Smith

Senior Administrator